News & Community

Classic Rock Magazine Roll of Honour 2012

ZZ Top, The Damned and Lynyrd Skynyrd were among those honoured at the eighth annual Orange Amplification Classic Rock Roll of Honour awards on Tuesday night at a gala evening held at the Camden Roundhouse, London.

The event was hosted by Duff McKagan (Guns n’Roses, Velvet Revolver, Loaded) and was attended by some of the biggest names of Rock! Alchemy were once again proud sponsors of the event, this time sponsoring the re-issue of the year award. We were also honoured to have sculpted and individually crafted each award in our own Leicester studios, as we do each year along with the Metal Hammer Golden Gods awards.

Among the winners on the night were The Damned, rewarded for their outstanding contribution to music, 36 years on from their recording debut. Rush, who received the award for Album of the Year (Clockwork Angels) and Band of the Year. As well as Tracer who received Best new band, having completed their first headline tour earlier this year.

Anthrax were named Metal Gurus and manager Tony Smith was named VIP, while the late Deep Purple keyboard player Jon Lord received the Tommy Vance Inspiration award.

The Final award of the evening was for ZZ Top, claiming the coveted Living Legend Award presented by last year’s winner, Jeff Beck. The Texan three-piece join an exclusive club including Jimmy Page, Alice Cooper and Iggy Pop.

Bringing an end to a great evening was a 30 minute set by Lynyrd Skynyrd, who had earlier collected the Comeback Award. Scroll down to view a video from the night, as the band perform the well known ‘Sweet Home Alabama’


Classic Rock Roll of Honour 2012

The Living Legend Award (Sponsored by Orange Amplification): ZZ Top

Event Of The Year (Sponsored by Roadrunner): Ginger Raises £250k

Breakthrough Act Of The Year (sponsored by Olympus): Rival Sons

The Musicians’ Union Maestro Award: Phil Manzanera

Tommy Vance Inspiration Award (Sponsored by Lewis Leathers): Jon Lord

Classic Songwriter Award (Sponsored by Sennheiser): Russ Ballard

Outstanding Contribution (sponsored by Monitor Audio): The Damned

Classic Album Award (sponsored by Eagle Rock): Status Quo ‘Live!’

V.I.P. Award (sponsored by Tony Smith

Metal Guru Award (sponsored by Mascot Label Group): Anthrax

Best New Band (sponsored by Kraken): Tracer

Album Of The Year: Rush ‘Clockwork Angels’

Reissue Of The Year (sponsored by Alchemy): Pink Floyd’s ‘Immersion’

Film/DVD Award: Pink Floyd ‘The Story Of Wish You Were Here’

Band Of The Year (sponsored by Live Nation): Rush

Spirit Of Prog Award (sponsored by USM / UMC): Family

Showman Of The Year (sponsored by Rimowa): Nikki Sixx

Comeback Award (Sponsored by Jeffery West): Lynyrd Skynyrd

Comments are closed.